Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

Roll on July!
Beginner July 2011

Wedding Insurance - advice please

Roll on July!, 14 December, 2010 at 22:39 Posted on Planning 0 15

I would like your advice please! We are just about to pay out lots of quite large deposits for the bigger items for our wedding next summer and were thinking of putting these on credit cards so they were 'protected' if anything were to go wrong in terms of suppliers going bust etc, but now I am having a little wobble and wondering if we should get wedding insurance instead? H2B is quite difficult to convince though.

Is wedding insurance really necessary? What would it cover that a credit card wouldn't? and do you have any recommendations for the best/cheapest policies?

Sorry I'm not very good at reading through lots of different policies small prints and comparing options - so would appreciate any comments and H2B who would normally do this sort of thing isn't really convinced it's necessary x

15 replies

Latest activity by panda2011, 16 December, 2010 at 12:36
  • ajdown
    VIP September 2011
    ajdown ·
    • Hide content

Insurance is one of those things that if everything goes to plan, it was a waste of money - but when something invariably does go wrong, you'll be glad you had it (or regret not buying it).

We used the Ecclesiastical one from Hitched, just over £50, and I don't know what your overall budget is but when you're looking at £10,000 to £30,000 (or more) it almost seems silly not to have that little expense for a bit of extra security "just in case".

You'll probably find that any insurance on your credit card has an excess and upper limit per item, so given that you're likely spending thousands on your venue booking, maybe £1000 on a photographer and similar on a dress, you may well find that most of your big day wouldn't be covered on your credit card anyway.