Skip to main content

Post content has been hidden

To unblock this content, please click here

ATB
Beginner August 2014

Do you have a dress code/uniform for work?

ATB, 6 of September of 2011 at 15:40 Posted on Off Topic Posts 0 135

When working part time in a department store and supermarket as a student I wore a uniform, in my "grown up" full time jobs I've either been required to wear business dress or worked in a no dress code casual office. Currently I am business casual (as in trousers/skirt, top and a cardigan most days) and self funded. My work is now purchasing us all shirts to wear. Nothing offensive, blue or white, with company logo. I'm perfectly willing but a lot of staff are not happy and don't want to be "branded".

What do you wear to work, and is it your choice or a requirement set out by, and therefor paid for by your employer?

135 replies

Latest activity by robert 25, 19 of September of 2011 at 11:46
  • Knees
    VIP August 2012
    Knees ·
    • Hide content

I was thinking only yesterday how it would be cool to work somewhere with an uniform. I wear office wear to work. How smart or casual it is depends very much on the weather and who I know I'm seeing that day. When I have clients booked in, I tend to go a bit smarter. In the summer, I go a bit more casual and wear nice sundresses with flip flops. The men wear suits and the other female solicitor dresses a bit more smartly than I do, but she goes to court whereas I don't.

ETA - I've never been told what to wear at work, but it's pretty obvious. Everything I wear is bought by me. I currently hate my work wardrobe, but then again, I currently hate my work, so perhaps I'd be a bit more bothered if I enjoyed going to work in the morning!

• Storky
    Beginner May 2011
    Storky ·
    • Hide content